Canklow Woods Primary School

Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Wood Lane, Rotherham, South Yorkshire S60 2XJ


Canklow Woods Primary School

Part of White Woods Primary Academy Trust

EYFS Curiculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a play based approach to learning for children from birth to 5 years old. It is a statutory requirement and is in place in all nurseries and schools throughout England. The EYFS is a framework that sets out welfare and development goals, there are 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas of learning and development. In First Steps, we place a greater focus on the prime areas of learning and development, as these provide the foundations to all further learning.

Prime areas of the EYFS:

  • Personal, social and emotional development (PSED)
  • Physical development (PD)
  • Communication and language (C&L)

When children become secure in their expected stage of development, we begin to look at the specific areas of learning and development, which are as follows:

Specific areas of the EYFS:

  • Literacy (Lit)
  • Mathematics (Mat)
  • Understanding the world (UTW)
  • Expressive arts and design (EA&D)