Skip to main content

An explanation of our 2015 Asessment procedure:

This is to explain some of the changes which have been happening in schools countrywide regarding the curriculum and assessment and how Canklow Woods has been addressing the changes which have taken place.

Curriculum 2014

The Government made changes to the curriculum ready for September 2014, with the idea that these would be put fully in place by the end of the current school year.  It would take far too long to explain the changes to the whole curriculum in any great depth, but the main changes to the key core subjects are highlighted below.

English - The new programme of study for English is knowledge-based; this means its focus is on knowing facts rather than developing skills and understanding.  It is also characterised by an increased emphasis on the technical aspects of language, with less emphasis on the creative aspects.  English is set out year by year in Key Stage 1 and two-yearly in Key Stage 2.  Appendices give specific content to be covered in the areas of spelling and vocabulary, grammar and punctuation.  These are set out yearly across both key stages.

Mathematics - The main areas in the new programme of study for mathematics are called domains.  These are number, measurement, geometry, statistics, ratio and proportion and algebra.

There is no longer a separate strand of objectives related to using and applying mathematics.  Instead, there are problem-solving objectives within the other areas of study.  Most of the changes to the mathematics curriculum involve content being brought down to earlier years, i.e: more difficult content for children in all years and higher expectations of what children will achieve. 

Assessment Without Levels

From this September, the Government completely changed the way that children in schools are to be assessed.  This was to tie in with the New National Curriculum that was begun by all schools at the beginning of this Academic Year.  This is a new way of thinking for schools, and assessment will look very different to how it has done for the past 20 years.  The aim of this guide is to hopefully give you some clear information about all the changes which have been happening in Education across the country, and what that means for the children here at Canklow Woods School.

The End of Curriculum Levels

The Department for Education (DfE) decided that the children who are currently in Years 2 and 6 will be the last pupils to be awarded a level in their end of Key Stage tests (Summer 2015).

So why are levels disappearing?

The DfE want to avoid what has been termed 'The level Race' where children have moved through the old National Curriculum levels quickly to achieve higer attainment.  The old National Curriculum was sub-divided into levels, but these were not linked to their National Curriculum year group.  For example, a child in Year 4 could be a Level 3 or even a level 5. Children were achieving Level 5 and 6 at the end of Key Stage 2, but the DfE thought that a significant number were able to achieve a Level 5 or 6 in a test—but were not secure at that level. The feeling from the DfE was that the old National Curriculum and the levels system failed to adequately ensure that children had a breadth and depth of knowledge at each National Curriculum level.