Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a play based approach to learning for children from birth to 5 years old. It is a statutory requirement and is in place in all nurseries and schools throughout England. The EYFS is a framework that sets out welfare and development goals, there are 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas of learning and development. In First Steps, we place a greater focus on the prime areas of learning and development, as these provide the foundations to all further learning.

Prime areas of the EYFS:

  • Personal, social and emotional development (PSED)
  • Physical development (PD)
  • Communication and language (C&L)

When children become secure in their expected stage of development, we begin to look at the specific areas of learning and development, which are as follows:

Specific areas of the EYFS:

  • Literacy (Lit)
  • Mathematics (Mat)
  • Understanding the world (UTW)
  • Expressive arts and design (EA&D)